“Life is Life,” Why do we kill Insects?

So, I scroll down my Facebook timeline as I normally do when stricken with ennui and I see one of my friends pose the question of “Why do we kill bugs?” Her answer is “because we fear them.” I found this to be absolute fallacy and rather narrow-minded to say the least. As with a good number of people who proclaim to be “conscious,” the people whom commented expressed their consensus with her sentiments by claiming that they felt bad when they killed a roach or that if they found an insect in their home they would catch it and let it free outside. Understandable, I sometimes do the same, but killing is absolutely necessary in some instances. Some of them believe that common household pests pose no threat to health and towards property. I beg to differ. 

So I challenged their thinking:

“I hardly think a roach infestation is healthy. Same with mice and just about any other pest that will take over your dwelling and probably impair your health while doing so. I had a wasp infestation in my room where literally dozens of them would just fly aimlessly into my room.

A question I have is this: Do animals and insects follow the same code of ethics that we do? Do they respect life? Or do they impose their will for their own survival?”

I thought those were very pertinent questions. Another friend of hers commented shortly after I did and affirmed what I said:

“Insects don’t care about anyone. A bee won’t say I really shouldn’t sting this person. A fly won’t say I shouldn’t vomit and shit on this persons head.”

From what I have noticed, several people in this “spiritual” community subscribe to the idea that everything is interconnected and that we should respect all life and that humans aren’t above any other form of life. Many of them have stopped eating meat in favor of a vegan lifestyle. I agree to a certain extent. Yes, everything on this physical plane is interconnected in some fashion. Yes, we should respect all life. However, I believe every group views themselves as more important and higher than other forms of life. I highly doubt that cats view dogs as equals. I highly doubt that lions in the Serengeti view their prey as equals. Hell, humans have a hard enough time viewing themselves as equals.

What I find funny though is that they spout all of this “life is life” rhetoric yet some of them probably own pets or condone doing so, subscribe to having abortions, and kill “innocent” plant life for sustenance. For survival. But, “life is life” though. Plants have feelings too!Humans aren’t above anything,” yet take ownership and confine animal life to cages and zoos. Preposterous.

The basis of life is survival. Simple. Your species and the proliferation thereof, by any means necessary. The survival of the fittest.

Sure,  some of us do kill bugs and animals based on the pretense of fear, or assumed fear. However, animals do the same. It is nature to want to defend yourself in order to ensure your own survival.

I guess we should all just meditate all day in a festering wasteland of shit and infestation. Better yet, let disease carrying insects and animals defile and bite you. Why not? “Life is life,” right?

Leave a Reply

